Digital Confusion

I hate whining. Whining is not about improving. My desire is to always offer opportunities for improvement for the benefit of myself and others. With that said, any rants I have I will try to aim for those goals.

I recently lost the Domain I had for over 10 years. I originally set it up under a small local Service Provider and tried to move it to another, more prominent national ISP, about 5 years ago. That’s where the confusion started. It seems, the local ISP put themselves as the Administrative Contact and therefore had to request the move. That set me off on a paper maze attempting to get the admin contact changed to myself (to prevent any future issues). Notarization, change fees, and signatures were all sent and the process seemed to be complete.

Imagine my dismay when I learned last year that the process was never completed. The local ISP was bought out and I can only assume records were lost in the process. Around this same time the national ISP let me know that my domain was about to expire. I attempted to contact the local provider and correct the admin issue. Meanwhile the domain came “under dispute” by the national ISP, who was unable to get clarification from the local group.

Now Comes The Rub
Instead of contacting me and manually freezing the account until all issues were resolved, the automated process set by the national provider put the domain up for auction! I learned this after failed attempts to contact the local ISP (which had been sold once again) and then going back the national group to pay for another 3 years on the domain.

I immediately contacted the national ISP and started the email/phone process to try and stop the auction and keep the domain. While going through proper channels, my domain was sold! The national provider said, “sorry, but was an automated process and we could do nothing about it.”

Change Poor Business Processes
My suggestion to the company for the benefit of those who come behind was to change this business process model. If a domain comes under dispute it should be set aside until the issue is resolved, not automatically put up for auction to the highest bidder. While automation is a wonderful way to accomplish routine tasks, the subtle nuances in a dispute need to be processed in a different manner.

My prayer is that no one else has to suffer through poorly instituted business processes like the one described above. Whenever you encounter something such as this, bring it to the attention of those in charge for your sake and the sake of others coming behind.

Leave a Reply

