Buckhead Diner

Atlanta’s Buckhead Diner.By E. Brown

An Atlanta landmark for eating out is the Buckhead Diner. Attracting locals and visitors alike, the Buckhead Diner boasts a well priced menu with portions that will fill you up. You may want to split some of the items. The Diner has undergone several changes in recent years, including the addition of Executive Chef, Joey Riley. A good move.

From the outside, it reminds you of an old 60’s Diner with retro design and neon lights, but once you’re inside the atmosphere is truly a fine dining experience. Waiters in white jackets buzz about the tables of dark stained wood. The menu is creative and delicious American cuisine.

I admit, having lived in Atlanta for over 15 years, I had never been to the Buckhead Diner until last night. Shame on me. The service was fun and the food was…Wow! If you like blue cheese, I recommend the homemade potatoe chips with warm Maytag Blue Cheese as an appetizer. Who would have thought this combination could be so mouth watering?

Everything on the dinner menu looked good to me. I had the Wood Fired Ribeye steak while my wife had the Chervil-scented Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes. Next time, I think I’ll have the Crab Cakes too! Not to say the Ribeye was bad, but I like crab and Buckhead Diner serves two patties full of meat with very little breading. Yum.

For dessert, we had the Diner’s classic White Chocolate and Banana Creme pie. We split one piece and were barely able to finish it all.

So don’t wait 15 years, like me, to visit the Buckhead Diner. Make reservations, enjoy looking at the celebrity pictures on the walls, and definitely try the chips, crab cakes, and pie.

*For more on restaurants, food, and recipes, visit the Grub category of WeirdGuy Blog.

Leave a Reply

