Steve Jobs vs. Amazon’s Kindle

Is Steve out of touch with reality or is he onto the next “insanely great” idea? Read for yourself.

What do you think: Is reading books a fading past time or a changing paradigm?

clipped from www.nytimes.com
Amazon’s first iteration of an electronic book reader is the Kindle. Introduced in November, it weighs about 10 ounces, holds more than 200 full-length books and can display newspapers, magazines and blogs. It uses E Ink technology, developed by the company of that name, that produces sharply defined text yet draws power only when a page is changed
The Kindle is expensive — $399 — but it sold out in just six hours after its debut on Nov. 19. Since then, supplies have consistently lagged behind demand, and a waiting list remains in place.
Steven P. Jobs, the chief executive of Apple, has nothing to fear from the Kindle. No one would regard it as competition for the iPod.
Yet, when Mr. Jobs was asked two weeks ago at the Macworld Expo what he thought of the Kindle, he heaped scorn on the book industry. “It doesn’t matter how good or bad the product is; the fact is that people don’t read anymore,” he said. “Forty percent of the people in the U.S. read one book or less last year.”
8 thoughts on “Steve Jobs vs. Amazon’s Kindle

  1. Actually, Steve Jobs’ prescience is no better than Bill Gates–sales for books have been on the rise and more books are being published now than EVER before. I’m disappointed with Steve for his short-sighted remark and I can only guess it was a quick, thoughtless rejoinder directed toward a competitor. I’m a Mac guy and will be forever–that said, Steve, why don’t you spend more time and energy bringing down the base price of your products instead of making silly, ill-considered statements on subjects of which you know SQUAT…

  2. I think Steve has a point…from one perspective at least.
    People ‘dont read’ anymore.

    Or rather they read all the time, but its in quick bits from the internet.
    Even magazines are on the net and you can quickly get to what your looking for.

    Information is becoming more digestible. No longer do you have to pour through books to find what it is your looking for if researching. So again, “long form” reading may not be as popular as before.

    For me, I will say, that I like to read anything over a page on paper. I like to print stuff.
    So books will always be in fashion for me. The feel of the pages through my thumbs as I shuffle the pages, and the smell of the freshly printed book. (Well, your talking to someone who went to school to learned how to operate a printing press…literally.)

    So in a way, the reader would have to be put together extremely well, and I would have to get over screen fatigue.

    Again, there are many ways to look at this, time will tell – but I dont see kindle taking off.
    (Not in the sense that it will be in everyones house.)

    Peace

    dAlen

  3. Here is a link from the BBC –
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/entertainment/7213686.stm

    So books are the most popular online buy. (Exactly…books, not electronic copies of books.)
    Again, I think many – for now – will not want to read their books on an e-reader. Nor their magazines on a thick machine a lot heavier than a stack of mags. :)
    Also paying for reading blogs…what was that all about?

    I believe the point is that kindle just isnt the right machine for what they want people to do with it.
    They said print would be dead years ago…and I used to agree, until I got screen fatigue from reading anything over a page long.

    Peace

    dAlen

  4. Hey dAlen, have you watched the video on Amazon about the Kindle? The wi-fi is free, provided by Amazon and the cost is only for the books or magazine and newspaper subscriptions you buy. I have seen nothing about being charged to read blogs.

    Leo Laporte tested the first release of Kindle and then bought the newer version (TWiT podcast). He says the screen is very easy on the eyes. For people who travel, carrying hundreds of books or magazines weighs a lot more than the 10 ounces of the Kindle.

    Adoption will be interesting to watch over the year to come. Right now the Kindle is on back order with a waiting list. We’ll see…

    -eb

  5. Actually I havent viewed the video yet, but I plan to do so after writing this.

    I thought I saw the bit about having to pay for certain blogs at wired, but again I dont have the source at the moment, and I could totally be wrong about this.

    Screen easy on the eyes, that sounds nice. For some reason I seem to be more sensitive to the light emitting from monitors…this is why I have personally preferred a book on paper.

    As you mention, it will be interesting to see how this all works out in the end.
    From what your saying about the waiting list, there must be an audience for it, and in truth I can only imagine if they get something a bit more trimmed down (havent seen the newer version you mentioned), they might really be on to something.

    Again, on my end I find it easier flipping back and forth in a book as I reference material.
    Im sure its all in the mind, as its what Im used to, and a good layout may help people like me eventually switch.

    Well, enough rambling, time to take a second look at it.

    Peace

    dAlen

Leave a Reply

